Spiritual Inspiration

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

4 posters

On Using Western Medicine

WaitingForTheSun
    WaitingForTheSun

Male
    Number of posts : 17
    Job/hobbies : Nursing student
    Registration date : 2017-08-31

On Using Western Medicine Empty On Using Western Medicine

Post  WaitingForTheSun Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:48 pm

Hello, 

I am unsure of where to post this, so I hope this is the proper place. I am currently studying to become a nurse in Canada. The only thing is, is that I personally believe in more natural approach to health. 

I guess my question is, is it weird to become a nurse even if I don't believe in all of the practices (ex. chemotherapy)? I'm doing it for the reason of helping people, something I love doing.
    Blueanchor
    Blueanchor

Number of posts : 1189
    Registration date : 2015-08-26

On Using Western Medicine Empty Re: On Using Western Medicine

Post  Blueanchor Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:49 pm

Its not weird that youre training to be a nurse. But it might be something that you need to reconcile within yourself.
    ameliorate
    ameliorate

Female
    Number of posts : 3603
    Job/hobbies : Full-time person! Cooking, creating things
    Registration date : 2012-02-15

Post  ameliorate Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:15 pm

Yes I agree with Blueanchor.   You need to weigh up the degree of conflict this poses when you envisage the reality of having to administer orthodox medication.

Whilst I am a great advocate of alternative medicine/remedies, when it comes to something as serious as cancer (e.g. chemotherapy) you might want to read this....

http://scienceblog.cancerresearchuk.org/2015/04/27/alternative-therapies-whats-the-harm/
    WaitingForTheSun
    WaitingForTheSun

Male

Post  WaitingForTheSun Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:20 am

Blueanchor wrote:Its not weird that youre training to be a nurse. But it might be something that you need to reconcile within yourself.